Thursday, August 25, 2016

Cover reveal - Survivor Diaries

For me, the best part of writing Ice Dogs was the day I got to see the cover for the first time. It's an anxious feeling wondering what the cover art will look like for a story that has been years in the making. Characters who have haunted your thoughts and been with you for so long - finally about to come to life as someone else sees it!

I'm so happy to reveal the first cover in my new series for reluctant readers - 


Stay Calm. Stay Smart. Survive. 

In episode one of the high-stakes Survivor Diaries series, a whale tour off the coast of the Washington goes horribly wrong. Travis and Marina will have their grit and teamwork tested to the extreme. Perfect for fans of Lauren Tarshis’ I Survived series.

Coming July 4, 2017

pre order the book:

The next cover SURVIVOR DIARIES - Avalanche! Is stunning. Can't wait to show you that one. 

To recap, here are my next releases coming out in 2017

Survivor Diaries - Overboard! July 4, 2017

Falcon Wild - September 19, 2017

Sled Dog School - October 3, 2017

Survivor Diaries - Avalanche! January, 2018

Check the website for more information on these upcoming novels!

Thursday, July 7, 2016

New Series!

I finally get to share my big news.
I know, MORE BIG NEWS?? How is that possible?

I've had an incredible year, and been very very lucky.

This is what I've been working on lately. From Publishers Weekly:

Christine Krones at HMH has acquired the first four books in a fictional series of young chapter books called Survivor Diaries by Terry Lynn Johnson. Each book will feature a different survival story about kids who get lost in the wilderness and are able to survive using their knowledge and skills in climates ranging from snowy Wyoming backcountry to tropical Costa Rican rainforest. Publication of the first title, Overboard, is scheduled for spring 2017; Caryn Wiseman at the Andrea Brown Literary Agency negotiated the deal for world rights.

An example of "never give up":
Survivor Diaries has been super fun to write. I felt blessed each day during my recent leave of absence from work that I got to stay home and do something I love. 
But before that, I had started to wonder if my writing career was over. I hadn't sold anything in four years. Not since ICE DOGS. 
Now suddenly, with the 4-book SURVIVOR DIARIES series added to my other contracts (FALCON WILD is the new official title of my falconry novel coming out next fall, and SLED DOG SCHOOL coming out Feb. 2018), that makes six books sold in one year! Publishing can be like that. I'm just so grateful to be writing again.

We've recently returned from a research trip hiking in Montana and Wyoming, so here are a few pictures while we wait for the book covers to arrive. 

Yellowstone Park, Wyoming
Grand Canyon of Yellowstone

hiking Sphinx Mountain, Montana

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Another new book deal!

I'm excited to share more news - I have another dogsledding novel coming out next year!

Here's the announcement from Publisher's Weekly:

Ann Rider at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt has acquired a middle-grade novel by Terry Lynn JohnsonSled Dog School tells the story of a lonely 11-year old boy who starts a business teaching dog sledding to fulfill a class assignment, but his lessons don't work out the way he expected. Publication is scheduled for fall 2017; Caryn Wiseman at Andrea Brown Literary Agency did the deal for world rights.  

I'm also sitting on even bigger news, but can't spill yet. Soon! 

For now, here's a few photos from our latest adventure - kayaking, snorkelling in Baja Mexico

No one knows why Grey Whales bring their babies to meet us, Magdelena Bay.
That's me wearing the Canadian bandana

Humpback whales feeding in La Paz Bay

Grey Whales coming for a scratch, they have fleas that look like white  ticks

spy hopping

snorkelling with juvenile whale sharks!

snorkelling with sea lion pups

Saturday, November 7, 2015

New book deal

Lots of book goodness happening around here. 

Photo credit here

First, here's the latest book deal I can share from Publishers Weekly:

Julie Bliven at Charlesbridge has bought Birds of Prey by Terry Lynn Johnson. It's a middle-grade survival story about 12-year-old Karma's quest to rescue her dad after a car accident leaves him trapped in the desert. Karma has only the help of her trained falcon and a troubled runaway boy, who may or may not be a friend. Publication is slated for 2018; Caryn Wiseman of the Andrea Brown Literary Agency did the deal for world rights. 

I'm so thrilled to finally get to share this story with you. I've had a fascination with raptors for years - seriously, look at that face, doesn't everyone?

You can check here for updates and more on my research for this project. The photo is a hint for exactly what kind of falcon is in the story. Can you guess?

Next, the paperback edition of ICE DOGS is out! I had a giveaway for my mailing list subscribers. Congrats to the following who won signed copies:

Cara Falcetti
Margaret Black
Kathleen Byrd

If you purchase a copy and want it signed, send me a self addressed envelope and I'll mail you a custom bookplate with little sled dogs on it!

I have one more thrilling bit of news that will have to wait till next month to share. I hope that you may come back to join the celebration. Thank you, everyone for sticking with this blog! 

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Best vacation - Whales in St. Lawrence, Quebec

I still can't tell you my big news.

But I do have more happy photos to share of our latest adventures.

Three weeks kayaking St. Lawrence and the Saguenay Fijord in Quebec.
Very French. Very WHALE.

little fuzzy, but here's me taking the above photo. This minke whale got a might close but the best part I wish I could share with you is the noise they make coming out of the water and blowing. Spectacular! 

Beluga Whales!

Grey seal - heavy breathers when following your kayak! 
stayed in this tent for three weeks!
Notice the tide markers in front on the beach. Sneaky coming up 14 feet during the night, had to keep an eye on it.

Two minke whales in a feeding frenzy. This photo was taken just before they got way too close erupting out of the water in a chaotic fashion and we had to back paddle post haste. Notice we are already rafted together with our kayaks to feel more stable and safe.

Note: "safe" being a relative term while sitting in a plastic tube on freezing water with mammals the size of busses underneath you. 

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

Kayak north shore Lake Huron

I have news! 

But I have to wait to tell you.

In the meantime, here are some photos of our latest kayak trip along beautiful Lake Huron from Sault Ste. Marie to Spanish, Ontario.

Saturday, May 9, 2015

Student poems

I love getting mail from readers. It is the best part of being an author to imagine my book touched anyone enough for them to take the time to tell me about it.

This latest package I received has to be shared!

Not only did these elementary students from Massachusetts send me some fantastic ideas for a sequel (sadly, there will not be a sequel guys, ICE DOGS is a stand alone) but they also sent me these amazing POEMS

I have their permission to post these on my blog. Enjoy!

burned the map
by Jaime 

this is just to say 
I have burned the 
map that you gave
 to me

and you were probably trying to 
get us home

forgive me

I am very clumsy boy and 
so foolish

Four Little Booties 
By Christian 
The Point Of View Of Whistler

so much depends 

four little 
sewn with the cloth from a 

on my paws

Triple­Cheese Burgers
By Declan 
From The Point Of View Of Chris

So much depends upon

Triple­cheese burgers

Cooked perfectly

With orange cheddar cheese 

My team

by Rebecca 

So much depends 

My muscular dogs

Dorset, Blue, Drift, 
Gazzo, Whistler, and 
don’t forget Bean

Carrying me in 
the sled 
running rapidly

Bean By: 

from the point of view of Vicky

so much depends upon,
Bean the ice dog, 
in the wilderness, 
guiding me home

this is just to say
i need food and i wanted to hurt your dog but when i got on the trail

 you threw your snow shoe at me

and i ran and your dogs chased me and i hurt one of your leaders bean

by Dominic